Young Researchers' Conference 2018 Winners

Oral category

First prize
Dorothy Winful, Brunel University London
Designing resistance against progressive collapse into framed structures.

Second prize
Joshua Mudie, University of Bristol
Continuous timber-concrete composites

Third prize
Nicolas Hadjipantelis, Imperial College London
Prestressed cold-formed steel beams

All oral winners' presentations are available to watch on the Institution's YouTube channel

Poster category

First prize
Jack Denny, University of Southampton
Structural response of steel columns to long-duration blast loading – the influence of section orientation
Second prize
Elina Efthymiou, City, University of London
Cable-stayed bridges under spatially variable ground motions

Joint Third Prize
Robert Ataria, University of Manchester
Bending and shear behaviour of RC beams with two layers of different grades of concrete
Adeyanju Teslim-Balogun, Imperial College London
Effect of blast and travelling fire on steel structures

YRC winners on stairs
From Left to Right:
Leroy Gardner (Chair of the Research Panel), Tim Ibell (Past President of the Institution of Structural Engineers), Robert Bennett Ataria, Jack Denny, Nicolas Hadjipantelis, Dorothy Winful, Elina Efthymiou, Andreas Fieber, Dr Xuan-Ding Wan (Winner of the inaugural Young Researchers’ Conference, China), Adeyanju Teslim-Balogun, Mateo Gutierrez Gonzalez (Winner of the inaugural Young Researchers’ Conference, Australia).
Find out more...

All of the pages on this website are the copyright © of The Institution of Structural Engineers.

The Institution of Structural Engineers, International HQ, 47-58 Bastwick Street, London, EC1V 3PS, United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0)20 7235 4535 Fax: +44 (0)20 7235 4294
Registered with the Charity Commission for England and Wales No. 233392 and in Scotland No. SC038263
Follow us on: Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Youtube The Structural Engineer Jobs