The Gold Medal

IStructE Gold Medal

The Gold Medal is our most prestigious award, presented to those individuals who have made a unique and outstanding contribution to the advancement of structural engineering.

The Medal is recognised around the world as a mark of unique accomplishment in the profession. It was first presented in 1922, to Professor Henry Adams. Other past recipients include Felix Candela, Ove Arup, Oleg Kerensky and Edmund Happold.

Jo da SilvaJo da Silva, Director of Arup’s International Development Group and Arup Fellow, has been awarded The Institution of Structural Engineers’ 2017 Gold Medal.

The Medal has been awarded to recognise the outstanding leadership she has provided as both a structural and humanitarian engineer, and for her distinguished and cross-sectoral work on urban resilience.

Among her many achievements, Jo co-ordinated the efforts of over 100 humanitarian agencies to provide transitional shelter in Sri Lanka following the Indian Ocean Tsunami in 2005, constructing 60,000 shelters in six months. 

Watch Jo's Gold Medal Address, "Design, Disasters and Development".

2016 Medallist

Our 2016 Gold Medal

We are delighted to annouce that our 2016 Gold Medallist is Robert Halvorson, of Halvorson and Partners.

2015 Medallist

Our 2015 Gold Medal

Mike's Schlaich was presented with the Gold Medal at our 2015 International Conference. Learn more here.

Previous Winners

Previous Winners

Learn about our previous winners, from Henry Adams to Tristram Carfrae.

All of the pages on this website are the copyright © of The Institution of Structural Engineers.

The Institution of Structural Engineers, International HQ, 47-58 Bastwick Street, London, EC1V 3PS, United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0)20 7235 4535 Fax: +44 (0)20 7235 4294
Registered with the Charity Commission for England and Wales No. 233392 and in Scotland No. SC038263
Follow us on: Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Youtube The Structural Engineer Jobs