Kenneth Severn Award

The Kenneth Severn Award is the Institution's annual essay competition for young engineers. Each year, the question is set by the incoming President.

The Award commemorates Kenneth Severn, President of the Institution from 1972-73, and is supported by the late Mr Severn's family.

2018 award winners

  • Radu Trancau for ‘What will structural engineering practice look like in 10–15 years’ time and how can our professional community help us prepare for this?

  • Commendation: Michael Minehane
Status Closed until December 2018
Eligibility Members and non-members of the Institution
Aged 28 years of age or under, on 1 January of the year of entry
The prestigious Kenneth Severn Diploma
A cash prize of £500
The winning paper will also be considered for publication in The Structural Engineer.
Entry format Answer a question set by the incoming president. Answers should be in the form of a written paper (max. 1500 words) and may include relevant imagery that supplements the text.



Previous award winners

2017 award winner

  • Amy Cleaves. Read Amy's winning entry in The Structural Engineer
  • Commendations: Alastair Low-Macrae, Matthew Powell and Krishna Prasad Menon.

2016 award winner

  • Robert Jackson. Read Robert’s winning entry in The Structural Engineer
  • Commendations: Richard Boyd and Ronan Carlin.
Find out more...

All of the pages on this website are the copyright © of The Institution of Structural Engineers.

The Institution of Structural Engineers, International HQ, 47-58 Bastwick Street, London, EC1V 3PS, United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0)20 7235 4535 Fax: +44 (0)20 7235 4294
Registered with the Charity Commission for England and Wales No. 233392 and in Scotland No. SC038263
Follow us on: Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Youtube The Structural Engineer Jobs