Institution of Structural Engineers > Events & Awards > People and Papers Awards > Papers Published in The Structural Engineer

Awards for Papers Published in The Structural Engineer

All winners had their papers published between January - December 2016

The Judging Panel for all Papers Awards was made up of the following people:

Joe Kindregan (Chairman)
Jeffrey Fisher
Lroy Gardner
David Grove

Paul Jackson
Thomas Lai
Dennis Lam
Allan Mann

And the winners were:

Murray Buxton Award - for papers of general interest.

This year’s Award was presented to Andrew Henry, Chia Wah Kam, Clive Lewis, Malcolm Smith, Mike King, Nick Boulter, Peter Hoad, Ruth Wong, Scott Munro and See Lin Ming - for their paper ‘Singapore Sports Hub: engineering the National Stadium’ published in September 2016.


Guthrie Brown Award - for papers of merit, written by a member/s under 40 years of age.

This Award was presented to Michael Orr, Tom Webster and Jon Leach, for their paper ‘2015 Serpentine Gallery Pavilion – challenges of form and fabric’ published in May 2016.


Derrington Construction Award for papers of merit deemed to refer to construction and/or health and safety.

This Award was presented to Emidio Piermarini, Hayden Nuttall, Rob May and Victoria Janssens, for their paper ‘City of Dreams, Macau – making the vision viable’ published in March 2016.


Husband Prize - for papers of merit related to bridges.

This was awarded to Pádraig McCarron and Ian Crook, for their paper ‘Ordsall Chord, Manchester: design of the UK’s first network arch bridge’ published in July 2016.


Clancy Prize - for papers of merit related to the understanding and practice of the whole life management of structures including surveys, investigations, strategic planning, testing and subsequent works to the structure.

This Award was presented to Kalaichelvi Navaratnarajah, For his paper ‘Engineering towards a resilient world – managing client expectations’ published in April 2016.


Oscar Faber Award - for papers presented for discussion at Evening Meetings or colloquia of the Institution during the year.

This Award was presented to Simon Bourne, for his paper ‘Best Construction Methods for Concrete Bridge Decks – Cost Data’ at Institution HQ in April 2016.



Sir Arnold Waters Medal - for papers deemed to be the best of those that have won a Reiongal Group prize during the session, and the text of which has been submitted to Headquarters to be considered..

The Award was awarded to Martin Paul Ashmead, for his paper ‘Building Collapses & Dangerous Structures’ and William John Harvey for his paper ‘They said it couldn’t be done: Elevarch’.


A diploma was also presented to Angus Cormie for his paper ‘Realising the Design 1: Design for Construction’ presented at Institution HQ in April 2016



Congratulations to all our winners!

To view a list of last year's winners, click here

To be in with a chance of winning one of these awards in 2016, all you need to do is have a paper published in The Structural Engineer… For more information about the guidelines for contributors please click here

All of the pages on this website are the copyright © of The Institution of Structural Engineers.

The Institution of Structural Engineers, International HQ, 47-58 Bastwick Street, London, EC1V 3PS, United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0)20 7235 4535 Fax: +44 (0)20 7235 4294
Registered with the Charity Commission for England and Wales No. 233392 and in Scotland No. SC038263
Follow us on: Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Youtube The Structural Engineer Jobs