Sir Arnold Waters Medal

The Sir Arnold Waters Medal is an annual prize which recognises the best presentations to have won a Regional Group award. 

Sir Arnold Waters was twice President of the Institution and a holder of the Victoria Cross, which he won for his bravery constructing a bridge under fire during World War One.

The 2018 Award is now closed for entries.

The Judging Panel considers:

  • Value to the profession as a contribution to the art and science of structural engineering
  • Clarity and presentation
  • Extent of the author’s responsibility for the work described


  • All presentation authors must be members of the Institution, of any grade.
  • The presentation must be submitted by a Regional Group representative.
  • The submission may take the form of a written paper or electronic presentation.

Further information can be found in 'Guidance for Regional Groups'.

2017 winners

In 2017 the Sir Arnold Waters Medal was awared to Martin Paul Ashmead, for his paper ‘Building Collapses & Dangerous Structures’

and to William John Harvey for his paper ‘They said it couldn’t be done: Elevarch’.

Find out more...

All of the pages on this website are the copyright © of The Institution of Structural Engineers.

The Institution of Structural Engineers, International HQ, 47-58 Bastwick Street, London, EC1V 3PS, United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0)20 7235 4535 Fax: +44 (0)20 7235 4294
Registered with the Charity Commission for England and Wales No. 233392 and in Scotland No. SC038263
Follow us on: Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Youtube The Structural Engineer Jobs