Previous Research Award holders

The Research Award has supported collaborations between leading research institutions like Imperial College London, Cambridge University and UCL with outstanding engineering firms like Arup, Ramboll and Expedition Engineering.


Find out more about award holders and their projects.

2014 Award

One Award of £6000 was made in 2014:

Dr Christian Málaga-Chuquitaype of Imperial College London worked with Ramboll to develop a fundamental understanding on the lateral response of Cross Laminated Timber (CLT) panels. This is an important step towards developing analysis methods that could enable structural engineers to design taller timber buildings. View more details of Dr Christian Málaga-Chuquitaype's project.

2013 Award

Two Awards of £6000 were made in 2013:

Dr Mauro Overend of University of Cambridge supervised a PhD student and worked with Dow Corning Limited to investigate the composite structural behaviour between glass and FRP. View more details of Dr Mauro Overend’s project and the research article is available here.

Dr Philippe Duffour of University College London worked with Expedition to build a large-scale prototype that demonstrates that active elements strategically located and controlled save large amounts of energy over the structure’s whole life. View more details of Dr Philippe Duffour’s project.

2012 Award

Two Awards of £5000 were made in 2012: -

Dr Mithila Achintha of University of Southampton supervised a PhD student exploring the efficacy of thin, transparent, self-adhesive glass fibre polymer sheets to prestress glass panels. View more details of Dr Mithila Achintha’s project.

Dr Jian Yang and Dr Samir Dirar of University of Birmingham supervised two PhD students aiming to engineer corrosion-free rail sleepers and ballast-less track systems that require low maintenance. Central to this work was the use of waste tyre particles and recycled concrete aggregates to increase sustainability credentials and reduce construction costs. View more details of Drs Yang and Dirar’s project.

2011 Award

Two Awards of £5000 were made in 2011: -

Dr Prakash Kripakaran of University of Exeter investigated the application of non-linear elastic wave spectroscopy for the early detection of delamination in fibre reinforced polymer retrofitted concrete structural elements. View Dr Prakash Kripakaran's entry and research articles in The Structural Engineer and Innovation and Research Focus Issue 92.

Find out more...

All of the pages on this website are the copyright © of The Institution of Structural Engineers.

The Institution of Structural Engineers, International HQ, 47-58 Bastwick Street, London, EC1V 3PS, United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0)20 7235 4535 Fax: +44 (0)20 7235 4294
Registered with the Charity Commission for England and Wales No. 233392 and in Scotland No. SC038263
Follow us on: Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Youtube The Structural Engineer Jobs