Institution President made Honorary Fellow of RIBA

Published: 28/09/2017

The Institution is delighted to congratulate 2017 President, Ian Firth, who has been conferred Honorary Fellowship of the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA).

RIBA awards the Fellowships annually to people who have made a particular contribution to the promotion of architecture and its role in building more sustainable communities.

Ian Firth FREng, BSc, MSc, DIC, CEng, FIStructE, FICE, FConsE joins a remarkable list of previous recipients including Grayson Perry, Sir Terry Conran, Ai Weiwei and Alan Yentob. Structural Engineer Hanif Kara FIStructE also holds Honorary Fellowship of RIBA.

Commenting on the award, Institution Chief Executive Martin Powell said:

“Throughout his Presidency Ian Firth has championed his passion for elegance in design, urging structural engineers to ‘go for gold’ at every opportunity. These messages have been wonderfully well received from experienced designers, students and graduates alike. Ian’s enthusiasm and passion for his profession knows no bounds and for this, he richly deserves his honour from the RIBA.”

Presentation of the award will take place early in 2018.

Discover all the RIBA Honorary Fellows


Back to news

All of the pages on this website are the copyright © of The Institution of Structural Engineers.

The Institution of Structural Engineers, International HQ, 47-58 Bastwick Street, London, EC1V 3PS, United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0)20 7235 4535 Fax: +44 (0)20 7235 4294
Registered with the Charity Commission for England and Wales No. 233392 and in Scotland No. SC038263
Follow us on: Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Youtube The Structural Engineer Jobs