President installs new Chairman for 2018

Published: 05/03/2018

The 2018 inaugural meeting and dinner of the South East Counties Regional Group was held at the Croydon Park Hotel on Tuesday 27 February.

President Faith Wainwright and Chris O'ReganThe President with Chris O'Regan

The event saw Institution President, Faith Wainwright, congratulate last year’s Chairman, Toby Robinson, for his excellent work and instal Chris O’Regan as 2018 Chairman. The President addressed the guests with an abridged version of her presidential address that was delivered earlier this year at Institution headquarters. 

The President also presented a certificate for best technical talk to Dr Daisuke Saito of Mott MacDonald, for his talk titled ‘Bridges in Japan’, given to the region during 2017. The talk covered bridge engineering technologies which are unique to the country and case studies of high-profile Japanese bridge design projects in which the speaker was involved. Dr Daisuke is also a committee member of the SEC Regional Group.

The meeting announced the following student prizes for their outstanding performance in the area of structural engineering:

•    Ahmad Kobeiter – University of Greenwich
•    Polly Elizabeth Morris – University of Brighton
•    Prince-Angelo Kwentoh – London South Bank University

The meeting also announced the award of the Fellowship of the Institution to local engineers Chimwemwe Gawasiri Banda and Andrew Philip Sherlock. Unfortunately both of them were unable to attend the evening due to poor weather conditions.

Back to news

All of the pages on this website are the copyright © of The Institution of Structural Engineers.

The Institution of Structural Engineers, International HQ, 47-58 Bastwick Street, London, EC1V 3PS, United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0)20 7235 4535 Fax: +44 (0)20 7235 4294
Registered with the Charity Commission for England and Wales No. 233392 and in Scotland No. SC038263
Follow us on: Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Youtube The Structural Engineer Jobs