Added to basket

Back to Previous

Annual General Meeting and nominations for committee

An election for the Southern Regional Group Committee for the 2020 session will be held during the Annual General Meeting on 21 October 2019.

The Regional Group would like to encourage all members to put themselves forward for the committee in order to:

  • Influence the programme of events for the coming year
  • Ensure that the local committee does what its members want it to
  • Contribute to the profession
  • Meet other professional engineers
  • Enhance your CV and IPD record

Positions are available for ordinary committee members, as well as various specific roles. Whilst all roles, including Chairman, are eligible to new candidates, there are specific positions which are currently vacant:

  • Student Members’ Representative
  • Graduate Members’ Representative
  • Committee membership is for a period of three years
  • Treasurer and Secretary are one-year terms
  • Existing committee members are eligible for re-election.

The nomination process is simple – please fill in the attached nomination form, with endorsement from a proposer and seconder, and return it to the Regional Group Secretary, Dan Newton, before 21 October 2019.

If the number of nominations for any post exceeds the number of vacancies, elections will be held at the AGM, with a postal vote option.

If you have any queries please contact Dan Newton.

Additional information



Regional Group Southern News

Related Resources & Events

The Structural Engineer gets a fresh new look

The Structural Engineer gets a fresh new look

The Institution’s highly regarded technical journal has been refreshed this October.

Date - 10 October 2019

Election of Vice Presidents 2020-2021 and ordinary members of the Council 2020-2022

Results of the election of two new Vice Presidents and nine ordinary members of Council.

Date - 10 October 2019
Robert Benaim receives the Whittle Medal

Robert Benaim FIStructE wins Whittle Medal

Congratulations to Robert, who received one of the Royal Academy of Engineering’s highest accolades for his work with pre-stressed concrete structures.

Date - 8 October 2019