# **People and Papers Awards**

Congratulations to all the winners of the Institution's People and Papers Awards 2020 and 2021. Both sets of awards were presented at a ceremony held at BMA House in London on Tuesday 21 September, following the postponement of last year's ceremony due to Covid-19.

The People and Papers Awards recognise outstanding contributions to structural engineering and to the Institution's work, through innovative education initiatives, papers published in *The Structural Engineer* and *Structures*, lectures, regional group activity, and much more. They cover the whole range of Institution life, from outstanding young professionals to those recognised for a lifetime of achievement and service.

This year's winners are given below. For a list of 2020 winners, see the July 2020 issue of *The Structural Engineer*.

# PAPERS AWARDS

#### Murray Buxton Award

Rob Amphlett

'The New Tottenham Hotspur Stadium: the value of engineering'

#### **Guthrie Brown Award**

Tom Kember

'Xiqu Centre, Hong Kong: design and construction of a suspended theatre structure'



Oscar Faber Award Hugh Dutton

'Designing with nature'

# Sir Arnold Waters Medal

Brandon Eastwood and Nello Petrioli 'Principal Tower'

#### **EDUCATION AWARD**

### Award for Excellence in Structural Engineering Education

Professor Richard Walls

'Structuring and developing a safer world in the developing world'



# **Derrington Construction Award**

Natalie Bowkett, Peter Goring and Des Mairs

'The Jump Factory – reaching new heights in construction productivity'

# **Husband Prize**

Bahman Kermani and Paul Pankhurst 'Design and construction of the Doha Link, Kuwait'

# **Clancy Prize**

Stephen Fernandez

'An introduction to refurbishment. Part 1: Identifying opportunities at the feasibility stage'



#### AWARDS FOR YOUNG ENGINEERS

#### Young Structural Engineering Professional Award

Winner: William Rogers-Tizard

Commendation: Alastair Low-Macrae

# Kenneth Severn Award

Winner: Max de Podesta Commendation: Matthew West Commendation: Caomhan Cronin



# **PEOPLE AWARDS**

President's Award
Will Arnold

# **Lewis Kent Award**

Peter Debney Dr Andrew Minson James Parsons Julia Ratcliffe

## Service Award

Una Beagon Richard Davis Esam Al Kelaby Dr Mehdi Khabbazan Azhar Raoof

Keith Eaton International Award
John Price

#### Lifetime Achievement Award

Martin Ashmead Stephen Baldwin



↑2021 Service Award winner Esam Al Kelaby receives a congratulatory 'elbow bump' from President Don



↑Miguel Martinez-Paneda and Eleanor Davies show off their 2020 Young Structural Engineering Professional Award certificates



↑The President's Award 2021 was presented to Will Arnold for his work in driving the Institution's response to the climate emergency



↑ Hugh Dutton receives the 2021 Oscar Faber Award for his talk on 'Designing with nature'



↑Nello Petrioli and Ron Slade collect the 2020 Derrington Construction Award for their paper on the Principal Tower

|Struct=



ISTRUCT

Hittica on

↑7Lewis Kent Award winners included Chris O'Regan (2020) and Julia Ratcliffe (2021)



 $\ensuremath{ \upphi}$  The 2021 Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to Stephen Baldwin and Martin Ashmead