People and Papers Awards 2022

Congratulations to all the winners of the Institution's People and Papers Awards 2022. The awards were presented by President Jane Entwistle at a ceremony held at the Royal College of Surgeons in London on Thursday 9 June.

The People and Papers Awards recognise outstanding contributions to structural engineering and to the Institution's work, through innovative education initiatives, papers published in *The Structural Engineer* and *Structures*, lectures, regional group activity, and much more. They cover the whole range of Institution life, from outstanding young professionals to those recognised for a lifetime of achievement and service.

PAPERS AWARDS

Murray Buxton Award

Diploma: Wong Seng, Heng Kim Huat, Maey Leow Geok Mui, Tan Teng Hooi, Chew Keat Chuan and Tan Chong Lin 'Concrete prefabricated prefinished volumetric construction for two high-rise blocks in Singapore'

Diploma: James Kitchin, Rosie Goldrick and Kelly Alvarez Doran 'Rwanda Institute for Conservation Agriculture – climate-positive design using locally sourced materials'

Guthrie Brown Award

Medal: Mathai Mathew 'Analysing existing structures: a brief

Derrington Construction Award

Diploma: Andrew Robertson and Eric Sturel '1 Triton Square, London – low-carbon development through reuse of an existing building'

Husband Prize

introduction'

Finn Graham and Ben Curry 'Design and construction of Hams Way Footbridge, Worcester'

Clancy Prize

Medal: Scott Brookes
'Historic plaster ceilings. Part 1:
Development and causes of failure' and
'Historic plaster ceilings. Part 2: Survey,
assessment and methods of conservation'

Diploma: Claire Young

'Upgrading the IMAX theatre at London's Science Museum'

Oscar Faber Award

Medal: Sam Youdan and Michael Brooks 'Battersea Power Station: Refurbishment of an Icon'

Diploma: Steve Williams and Andy Herrmann

'Florida bridge collapse: lessons learnt'



Sir Arnold Waters Medal

Marcos Sanchez and Lucio Blanco Martin 'Rose Fitzgerald Kennedy Bridge over the River Barrow'

STRUCTURES PRIZES

Best Research Paper Prize

Travis Thonstad, Marc O. Eberhard and John F. Stanton

'Design of prestressed, jointed columns for enhanced seismic performance'

Best Research into Practice Paper Prize

Smail Kechidi, Aires Colaço, Pedro Alves Costa, José Miguel Castro and Mário Marques

'Modelling of soil-structure interaction in OpenSees: A practical approach for performance-based seismic design'

EDUCATION AWARDS

Award for Excellence in Structural Engineering Education

Winner: Cian Farrell

'Virtual industry visits as a hybrid educational tool for enhancing engagement and interaction in engineering education'

Commendation: Maria Teresa Lombardo 'Structural feeling and conceptual design – an integrated learning framework to promote creativity and engagement in first-year students'

AWARDS FOR YOUNG ENGINEERS

Young Structural Engineering Professional Award

Winner: Ishan Abeysekera Runner-up: Lauren Barnes

Kenneth Severn Award

Winner: Andrew Blackie Commendation: James D'Ambrosio Commendation: Ying Xuan Chian

Young Researchers Conference Prizes

Presentation winner: Kamil Riedel 'Enhancing the robustness of PBBS precast concrete systems'





Service Award

Peter Finnegan

John Theodore

Timothy Jack Pope

Gurney Plummer

Robert John Mitchell

Keith Eaton International

Shalini Jagnarine-Azan

Lifetime Achievement

Shapour Mehrkar-Asl

Honorary Fellowships

Kate Simonen

Peter Oborn

Neil Gibbins Peter Wilkinson

Christopher John

Award

Bolton

Angelo Manesero

Presentation runner-up: Lefteris

Koutsoulakas

'Smart net-zero energy structural control'

Presentation runner-up: Javier Cañada Pérez-Sala

'Structural behaviour and design criteria of segmental high-speed railway bridges'

Poster winner: Bintian Lin

'Bipedal inverted pendulum for modelling vertical pedestrian-structure interaction on footbridges'

Poster runner-up: Kostas Kalfas 'Pressurized sand damper as a sustainable solution for the response modification of structures'

Poster runner-up: Hasini Weerasinghe 'Web crippling strength and behaviour of cold-formed thin-walled channels with web openings'



PEOPLE AWARDS

Lewis Kent Award

Rossella Nicolin Tristram Edward James Hope Phillip Nelson Chi Wang James Lau



↑The Kenneth Severn Award essay competition for young engineers was won by Andrew Blackie



↑Kamil Riedel took first place in the presentation category at the Young Researchers Conference



↑Jess Foster collected a Clancy Prize on behalf of her colleague, Claire Young



↑Rossella Nicolin received a Lewis Kent Award for her dedicated service to the Institution



↑Phillip Nelson collected a Lewis Kent Award for his dedicated service to the Institution



↑Peter Finnegan was the recipient of a Service Award for his support of the Republic of Ireland Regional Group



↑Angelo Manesero was given a Service Award for his support of the United Arab Emirates Regional Group



↑Peter Oborn was made an Honorary Fellow in recognition of his key role in the creation of the UK Built Environment Advisory Group



↑An Honorary Fellowship was bestowed on Neil Gibbins in recognition of his work in championing fire safety in engineering