People and Papers Awards 2017

Congratulations to all the winners of the Institution's 2017 People and Papers Awards, which were presented by President Ian Firth at a ceremony held on Thursday 8 June at Prince Phillip House, London.

The Papers Awards recognise outstanding work published in The Structural Engineer and Structures research journal, along with presentations given at HQ and around the regional groups. The People Awards acknowledge talented young engineers and those members who have made an outstanding contribution to Institution life.

Papers Awards

Murray Buxton Award

Medal: Andrew Henry, Chia Wah Kam, Clive Lewis, Malcolm Smith, Mike King, Nick Boulter, Peter Hoad, Ruth Wong, Scott Munro and See Lin Ming

Singapore Sports Hub: engineering the National Stadium

Guthrie Brown Award

Medal: Michael Orr, Tom Webster and Jon Leach 2015 Serpentine Gallery Pavilion – challenges of form and fabric

Derrington Construction Award Medal: Emidio Piermarini, Hayden Nuttall, Rob May and Victoria Janssens City of Dreams, Macau – making the vision viable

Diploma: Paul Hulme, John Calland, Tony Hunt and Andrew Baynton

Expansion of the Etihad Stadium, Manchester. Part 2: Construction

Husband Prize

Pádraig McCarron and Ian Crook Ordsall Chord, Manchester: design of the UK's first network arch bridge

Clancy Prize

Winner: Kalaichelvi Navaratnarajah Engineering towards a resilient world – managing client expectations

Diploma: Daniel Bergsagel

Disassembling Detroit: how deconstructing the post-industrial Rust Belt could give structural timber another life

Oscar Faber Award

Medal: Simon Bourne FIStructE Best construction methods for concrete bridge decks – cost data

Diploma: Angus Cormie FIStructE Realising the design 1: Design for construction





President lan Firth and Lifetime Achievement Award winner Frank Weare enjoy the ceremony



Oscar Faber Award winner: Simon Bourne



Derrington Construction Award winner: Hayden Nuttall

July 2017 | The Structural Engineer

Sir Arnold Waters Medal Medal: Martin Paul Ashmead FIStructE Building collapses and dangerous structures

Medal: William John Harvey FlStructE They said it couldn't be done: Elevarch

Structures Prizes

Best Research Paper Prize J.Y. Richard Liew, Mingxiang Xiong and Dexin Xiong Design of concrete filled tubular beam-columns with high strength steel and concrete

Best Research into Practice Paper Prize Andrew Beeby and Paul Jackson Partial safety factor for reinforcement

S.H. Robin Sham and Tom A. Wyatt Construction aerodynamics of cable-stayed bridges for record spans: Stonecutters Bridge

People Awards Keith Eaton Award Amr Salah Elnashai FIStructE

Lifetime Achievement Awards Satish Balkrishna Desai FlStructE Frank Edward Weare FlStructE

Service Awards Kate Leighton MIStructE Woodrow Bonner MIStructE Edward Bromhead

Lewis Kent Awards David Knight MIStructE Roma Agrawal MIStructE

Awards for Young Engineers

Young Structural Engineering Professional of the Year Will Arnold MIStructE

Kenneth Severn Award

Winner: Amy Cleaves Commendation: Krishna Prasad Menon Commendation: Alastair Low-Macrae Commendation: Matthew Powell

Pai Lin Li Travel Award

Charlotte Elizabeth Murphy Research proposal: Designing bridges for manufacture and assembly: Innovative joining technologies of precast concrete elements

Education Awards

Award for Excellence in Structural Engineering Education

Commendation: George Fereday The importance of making: Haptic feedback and intuition in the teaching of structures in architecture







Sir Arnold Waters Medal winner: Martin Ashmead



Lifetime Achievement Award winner: Satish Desai



Young Structural Engineering Professional Award winner: Will Arnold



Service Award winner: Woodrow Bonner



Pai Lin Li Travel Award winners: James Lomas and Charlotte Murphy