Do you know your **Husband Prize from your** Oscar Faber Award?

With the Institution's annual People and Papers Awards Luncheon taking place on 8 June, we offer a brief guide to the Papers Awards - and the presidents they are named after. Awards are made annually at the discretion of the Papers Awards Judging Panel.

Murray Buxton Award

An award to the author(s) of a paper of general interest that has been published in The Structural Engineer. A Murray Buxton Award may take the form of a Medal or a Diploma and one or more of each may be given each session. The award is not restricted to members of the Institution.



Captain Murray Buxton MC 1889-1940 A former missionary, Murray Buxton

was awarded the Military Cross for rescuing his troops in full view of the enemy at Gaza during World War I. Early in his term as Institution

President he was killed during an air raid in London, along with one of his three brothers.

Guthrie Brown Award

A commemorative Medal awarded to the author of a paper published in The Structural Engineer who is both a member of the Institution and not more than 40 years of age. Papers prepared under joint authorship are eligible, provided that all authors are members of the Institution and none is more than 40 years of age.



John Guthrie Brown 1892-1976 **President: 1956-57** Gold Medallist: 1964

As a senior partner of Sir Alexander Gibb, John Guthrie Brown specialised in hydroelectric engineering and

was the first British engineer to be President of the International Commission on Large Dams (ICOLD).

Derrington Construction Award

An award to the author(s) of a paper deemed to refer to construction and/or health and safety that has been published in The Structural Engineer. The Derrington Construction Award may take the form of a Medal or Diploma and one or more of each may be given each session. The award is not restricted to members of the Institution.



President: 1979-80

John Derrington was the first civil engineering contractor to be elected Institution President, having spent his entire working life with Sir Robert McAlpine & Sons. He had a great concern for health and safety and was the first President of The Concrete Society.

Husband Prize

A prize for merit to the author(s) of a paper relating to bridges that has been published in The Structural Engineer. The prize is not restricted to members of the Institution.

Prof. Joseph Husband

1872-1962

President: 1937-38

Joseph Husband established the Engineering Department at the University of Sheffield, which he headed for over 40 years. He set up the consultancy Husband & Co, of which his son and later fellow Institution President, Charles, became a senior partner.

Clancy Prize

A prize for merit to the author(s) of a paper published in The Structural Engineer which advances the understanding and practice of the whole-life management of structures. This includes surveys, investigations, strategic planning, testing and subsequent works to the structure. For a paper to be eligible, at least one author must be a member of the Institution.

Brian Clancy 1940-

President: 1996-97

Brian Clancy is a consulting engineer, advocate of members getting involved with their regional group and the driving force behind the Institution's publications on Subsidence of low-rise buildings and Guide to surveys and inspections of buildings and associated structures.







Oscar Faber Award

An award to the author(s) of a presentation that has been made at an Ordinary Meeting or Colloquium of the Institution. An Oscar Faber Award may take the form of a Medal or a Diploma and one or more of each may be given each session. The award is not restricted to members of the Institution.



Oscar Faber CBE
1886-1956
President: 1935-36
Oscar Faber developed the early theory and practice of reinforced-concrete design
– his "plastic yield" theory

was a forerunner to limit state design.
Faber's best known structure is the rebuilt
Bank of England and he received a CBE for
his work on the rebuilding of the House of
Commons.

Kenneth Severn Award

An annual essay competition for authors under the age of 28 in which the subject is set by the incoming President. It is open to both members and non-members of the Institution. The Kenneth Severn Award takes the form of a Diploma and carries a prize of £500. The winning essay is considered for publication in *The Structural Engineer*.



Kenneth Severn
1918–2004
President: 1972–73
A former Captain in the Royal
Engineers, Kenneth Severn
had an international reputation
as an arbitrator and was an

advocate of the importance of education and training. The Technician Education Council was founded in 1973 during his term as President, the Institution having introduced its Technician Certificate Scheme in 1970.

Sir Arnold Waters Medal

An award to an author, who is a member of the Institution, of a presentation of merit which has won a regional group prize. The Medal may be awarded jointly where there is more than one author of a presentation, provided each is a member of the Institution; or may be shared when presentations are adjudged to be of equal merit. To be eligible, presentations must be submitted to HQ by the regional group.



Sir Arnold Waters VC **1886–1981 President:** 1933–34 and 1943–44

The only person to have been Institution President twice, Sir Arnold Waters was awarded

the Victoria Cross for an act of bravery in completing the construction of a bridge during the second Battle of the Sambre near Ors in France in 1918.

