We’ve answered the most common questions about how to enter a project in The Structural Awards 2017. Please contact us at events@istructe.org or on +44 (0)20 7201 9824 if you need more information.

Click on a question to see the answer:

What is the new judging process?

The judging process is now in three stages. Firstly, a panel of eminent judges will independently look at all entries and award points. The highest scoring entries will then be evaluated by a ‘sitting judging panel’ to establish the shortlist. Once the shortlist is agreed, we will ensure that no conflict of interest exists between a judge and any shortlisted project. Should there be any conflict, those judges will not serve on the final judging panel. The final panel will convene and decide on the category winners.

Why have you changed the Awards categories?

The categories have been designed by the judges to place a stronger emphasis on the structural characteristics of a project, rather than the type of structure.

They reflect true engineering accomplishment and celebrate engineering excellence in the built environment.

Projects can be entered for consideration in 12 principal categories. In addition, the judges will consider each entry for one of three special awards.

Are there any Terms & Conditions to be aware of?

Terms & Conditions of entry 2017

Terms & Conditions of ticket sales

For any queries please contact the Events Team on events@istructe.org

When can I enter?

The Structural Awards 2017 closed for entries on Thursday 20 April 2017.
The date that The Structural Awards 2018 will open for entries will be confirmed in November 2017.

Why enter?

The Structural Awards highlight the achievements and successes of the structural engineering industry through the quality and calibre of the projects entered. From small-scale extensions to complete refurbishments of listed buildings and the development of new iconic structures, The Structural Awards 2017 celebrate the accomplishments of the industry’s most innovative structural engineers.

Entering The Structural Awards affords the opportunity of being associated with the continued growth and success of this annual occasion, highlighting the creativity and ingenuity of the structural engineering community.

You will also have the opportunity to raise your profile via the publicity that the Institution carries out for The Structural Awards. This includes shortlisted and winners’ details on the Institution’s website, and a feature in The Structural Engineer, which is available to all our members.

If your project is shortlisted, commended or wins an award, you will have achieved the defining recognition of excellence in structural engineering.

Who can enter?

Any company can submit a project to The Structural Awards. The submission must be backed by a structural engineer who is a member of The Institution of Structural Engineers. This person must be the project representative. All grades of membership are accepted.

Do I need to be a member of The Institution of Structural Engineers to enter?
Submissions must be backed by a structural engineer who is a member. All grades of membership are accepted. 

If you are not currently a member of the Institution, rest assured it is quick and easy to join. We have a variety of types and grades of membership you could consider. Find out more about membership.

If you want to join the Institution to be able to make a submission to The Structural Awards 2017 and gain access to the benefits of membership quickly, we recommend the following two types of membership for consideration at this time.  

Graduate Membership is ideal for engineers who have completed an accredited (or recognised) structural and/or civil engineering degree or the equivalent. Graduate members can work towards becoming professionally qualified. Find out more about the benefits of professional membership.

The Institution’s Affiliate Scheme offers those in a field associated with structural engineering, such as architects or civil engineers, closer association with the profession. You might also be a structural engineer not aiming to become professionally qualified or already be a member of another professional association. Find out more about the Affiliate Scheme.

Note - as the member named on the submitted project must be a practising structural engineer, we are unable to accept Student member backed submissions.

What type of project is suitable for entry?

The Structural Awards welcome entries from around the world in all categories and is open to small and large projects. Judging is based on merit not scale. The project entered, however, should have been completed or be due for completion during the identified eligibility time frame.

What are the judging criteria?

Submissions should focus on the structural engineering characteristics of the project. The judges will be looking for evidence of the following:

  • Excellence: characteristics that place the structural engineering solution well beyond the ordinary, including demonstrable examples of how the structural design enabled the project to meet or exceed the client's expectations
  • Creativity and innovation: examples of originality and the application of new and improved technologies and processes in the structural design, particularly where these have led to greater efficiency and economy in the solution
  • Elegance and detailing: engineering structures which demonstrate technical and/or visual elegance, including in the attention to detail, or which contribute to the elegance of the overall design solution
  • Sustainability: structural solutions which implement sustainable techniques and technologies, as demonstrated through efficiency, the specification of materials, recycling and reuse, socio-economic factors, carbon reduction and other factors
  • Value: economic viability and value for money in the structural solution, as well as non-financial indicators of value

What is the deadline for submissions?

The closing date for entries to The Structural Awards 2017 was Thursday 20 April 2017.

Is there a charge to submit my project?

Yes. The 2017 entry fee was £280 +VAT. Each project can be entered into a maximum of two principal categories.
The 2018 entry fee will be confirmed in November 2017.

What forms of payment do you accept?

You have two payment options:

  1. Make an online payment via credit or debit card;

  2. Bank transfer (BACS) via an invoice.

More information about payment will be provided when entry opens for The Structural Awards 2018.
I am submitting more than one project, can I pay for them all together?

Yes, multiple entries can either be paid for individually, or added together onto one online payment (maximum of 3 project entries per payment). Please note that the project contact must be the same for all entries.

Where is The Structural Awards 2017 ceremony being held?

The Structural Awards 2017 Ceremony & Dinner will take place on Friday 17 November at The Brewery, London.
When can I buy tickets to attend The Structural Awards?

There is limited availability left for The Structural Awards Ceremony on Friday 17 November. Please contact the Events Team if you would like to purchase tickets.

Where can I find out more about The Institution of Structural Engineers?

The Structural Awards 2017 are organised and hosted by The Institution of Structural Engineers. The Institution is the world’s largest membership body dedicated to the art and science of structural engineering, with 27,000 members working in over 100 nations around the world.

Members of The Institution are highly-trained professionals. Each Chartered Member has passed one of the most demanding examinations of its kind and is required to continually develop his or her skill-set, maintaining a justified reputation as a world-class engineering specialist.

Visit our website at www.istructe.org.