Here you'll find answers to some of the most common questions about the Structural Awards.

If you can't find the information you're looking for, get in touch using the contact form.

Why enter?

The Structural Awards recognise and celebrate the immense skill structural engineers demonstrate across a vast range of structures and disciplines.

Winning a Structural Award means: 

  • Recognition of your achievements by our expert judging panel

  • Extensive media coverage and publicity of your work

  • A celebration of the technical expertise and hard work of your team 

  • A spotlight on your organisation’s commitment to sustainable practices across design and construction

  • A showcase of projects that have tangible benefits for end-users and make a positive impact on communities

  • Joining a remarkable group of Structural Award-winners that enhance the reputation of the profession and inspire others

  • Boosting your business by establishing new relationships and reaching new clients 

When can I submit an entry?

Entries for the Structural Awards 2024 are now closed. Thank you to everyone that entered a project this year.

What is the judging process?

The Structural Awards have a rigorous three-stage judging process:

  1. The judging panel independently review entries to identify projects they believe demonstrate excellence, meet the judging criteria and warrant a place on the shortlist.
  2. The panel meet to deliberate and agree the shortlist.
  3. The judging panel review the provisional shortlist and identify projects they believe to be deserving winners.
  4. The panel meet to deliberate and agree the winning projects.
NB: Members of the judging panel will not review or participate in discussions around projects where they may have a vested interest.

What is the judging criteria?

The judging criteria is designed to ensure that the Structural Awards recognise and celebrate the immense skill structural engineers demonstrate across a vast range of structures.

All entries for this year’s Awards have been judged in response to four key attributes that exemplify structural engineering achievement:


  • The judges consider efficiency of design, sustainability, resilience, response to local conditions, regeneration, circular economy principles, alignment with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals.
  • All entries must submit quantification of the embodied carbon footprint of the structure (not the whole project) using the IStructE carbon calculator tool.


  • Entries may consider collaborative design and procurement, adding value for the client and stakeholders and/or impact on communities through local upskilling or creative problem-solving. The judges will be assessing how the project benefits its end users and society more widely.


  • Entries may consider technical achievement and innovation, influencing briefs to achieve desired outcomes, and/or the appreciation of craft and artistry in the final product. Entrants may give examples of originality and the application of new and improved technologies and processes in the structural design, particularly where these have led to greater efficiency and economy in the solution.


  • Entries may detail how the project/project team has inspired others, raised standards of design and execution, and/or enhanced the reputation of the profession. If entrants used novel materials or technologies, for example, then judges might consider how will the wider profession benefit from this. Judges will also consider if entrants have disseminated their design to others, shared knowledge outside the immediate project team or used this design educationally within or outside of their organisation.
  • It is recognised that some projects will demonstrate strength in response to one of the key attributes rather than relevance multiple attributes and judges will be assessing in which areas entrants have excelled in.

What are the awards categories?

The Structural Awards do not have traditional awards categories. This is because the judging panel welcome any and all submissions that demonstrate structural engineering achievement.

The only requirement is that your project celebrates the incredible skill of structural engineers in relation to at least one of the four key attributes of Planet, People, Process and Profession. The panel will score all entries in relation to these criteria and the highest scoring projects will form the shortlist.


What type of project is suitable for entry?

The Structural Awards are open to projects of all sizes from around the world that represent the design and construction of a built structure. Eligible projects must be completed and open for intended use between April 2023 and April 2024.

Who can enter?

Anyone can enter into the Structural Awards. Entries typically come from the structural engineering practice involved on the project, although this is not a requirement. 

NB: It is important to note that all companies involved in a project must agree to enter the Awards before any application is submitted. Joint ventures or group projects are also welcome to enter but this should be identified in Step 1 on the entry form. 

When will the shortlisted projects be announced?

The shortlisted projects are announced in early September each year. 

Where can I find out more about The Institution of Structural Engineers?

The Institution is the world’s largest membership organisation dedicated to structural engineering.

Professional membership is one of the leading global benchmarks of competence and technical excellence. Members undergo rigorous technical assessment and commit to continual learning and development.

The Institution drives higher standards and shares knowledge because its members’ work is vital to public safety and meeting the challenges of the future.

The Institution provides a voice for its members, promoting their contribution to society as innovative, creative problem solvers and the guardians of public safety.

Learn more on our About us page.