Author: Voce, G J
First published: N/A
Standard: £9 + VAT
An IStructE account gives you access to a world of knowledge. Create a profile to receive details of our unique range of resources, events and training.
Added to basket
Voce, G J
QUEEN’S QUAY fronts the River Lagan north of Queen’s Bridge on the County Down side of
Belfast Harbour (Fig. 1) and accommodates a large part of the coal traffic into the Port. In 1948 the Belfast Harbour Commissioners decided that that portion of the quay which lay north of any of the suggested sites for the proposed new road bridge across
the river should be reconstructed to improve the coal handling facilities. This paper will deal with the construction of the first 1,250 feet of quay which was carried out between 1949 and 1951.
R. J. N. Sweetnam
DESIGNERS are sometimes called upon to provide designs to cover up large floor areas with the following conditions:
(1) The entire floor area to be clear of any structural obstructions;
(2) To provide the maximum head room between the two fixed floor levels;
(3) The upper floor to be flat.
K. J. Taraporewalla
THE PRESIDENT introduced the Authors, who then presented their paper. A model of a new Universal Beam Mill, being installed at the new Lackenby steelworks of Messrs. Dorman Long and Company Ltd., was exhibited at the meeting.