Back to Previous

Learning from failures

Alastair Soane promotes the understanding and importance of learning from failures and the need to keep learning.

Alastair Soane's talk covers:

  • An introduction of the work done by the Standing Committee of Structural Safety (SCOSS) and the Confidential Reporting on Structural Safety (CROSS)
  • Examples of failures and near misses, and how these are handled
  • A brief overview of Grenfell and matters beyond that, namely the Hackitt Report and the Hansford Report
  • What engineers can do to make the process safer for the public and themselves

This video is from our 2018 Risk Management Conference.

Alastair Soane is Director of CROSS.

Additional information

Video Length:


Training Safety Video

Related Resources & Events

<h4>Understanding CDM</h4>

Understanding CDM

A presentation explaining the Construction (Design & Management) Regulations: CDM 2015.

Date ‐ 27 July 2018
Price ‐ Free
An image of a rollercoaster

The ups and downs of theme park engineering

Allan Mann discusses the history of rides and how their designs present complex structural challenges with interaction of many different engineering disciplines.

Date ‐ 19 July 2019
Author ‐ Allan Mann
Price ‐ Free
Caroline Field

Engineering for the future

How incorporating principles of resilience into everything we do can help us plan and create a lasting built environment.

Date ‐ 23 January 2018
Author ‐ Caroline Field
Price ‐ Free