Vice-Presidents and Council elections

Each year we invite nominations for new Vice-Presidents and Ordinary Members of Council.

Professionally qualified members are invited to stand for election as ordinary members of the Council, while Fellows of the Institution (who have already served on the Council) are invited to stand for Vice-President.

All nominees must have submitted an up-to-date report outlining their Continuing Professional Development (CPD) activities.

Normally ten new Ordinary Members of Council are elected each year for a three-year term.

Between one and three new Vice-Presidents are elected each year for a two-year term.

All members except Student Members can vote in our elections.


Our electoral regions are:
  1. Lancashire and Cheshire 
  2. Scottish, Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland 
  3. Yorkshire and Northern Counties 
  4. Bedfordshire and Adjoining Counties, East Anglia and East  Midlands 
  5. Midland Counties and Wales 
  6. Devon and Cornwall, Western Counties and Southern 
  7. Thames Valley and Surrey 
  8. North Thames 
  9. South Eastern Counties 
  10. Rest of Europe, Middle East, Africa and the Americas
  11. Hong Kong 
  12. Asia and Pacific 

Explore our training, events and resources to support you throughout your career and membership journey.